top of page

Chris Credden and His Mom Make Masks


By Chris Credden

Mask 1 – Like many people, my mom and I decided to create masks out of unused fabrics, such as shirts and sheets. Most of them were shirts cut up and sewn together, with strings attached so that they can be tied around the back of one’s head.  Here, I am demonstrating how the mask is worn on my face.

Mask 2 – We also made masks of varying shapes and sizes, some small enough that we were able to try them on stuffed animals! We don’t know exactly how many we made, but I estimate that we made at least 50 in a matter of a week.

Mask 3 – Our masks have mostly been given away to neighbors and other family members. For example, we sent 15 masks down to my cousin in Florida, so she could pass them out to her co-workers at her job. 

Mask 4 - Making masks became quicker and easier once I figured out how to use the sewing machine again; I had to re-learn a couple tips from my mom. It was like going back to 7th grade FACS all over again!

Mask 5 - When my mom and I come home from going out to different places, we immediately put our masks in the washing machine using a hand-wash-safe bag. Once they are finished washing, they are then hanged to dry before they are ironed flat.

Mask 6 - Here is another array of masks that we use when leaving the house. Shirts, bedsheets and pillowcases gave us more than enough material to create the masks that are necessary and mandatory when leaving the house to a public place.

12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page